Music to My Ears

I am a lover of music – anywhere, anytime, any genre – although that 90’s grunge has always been my favorite!

I think it’s because I come from a family that has always been surrounded by it. My dad, who plays the guitar, the ukulele, the harmonica, and sings, has played in bands for as long as I can remember. My mother used to play clarinet in her younger years and can also carry a tune.  My little sister has such an amazing voice that she could be a pro if she is ever in the right place at the right time. I can tinker a bit on the piano because of my childhood days of lessons. My husband Howard plays the guitar. Lily loves to dance and sing to whatever music she hears.

When I’m at home, in my car, or anywhere really, there is music playing about 95% of the time. I can’t drive, work, or do household chores without it (even if it is the Wiggles). Sometimes I even need it to fall asleep at night.

But the iPod, CD’s, radio, and Pandora have not been playing as much lately because a different type of music has been flowing through my soul.

Lily’s voice.

She started off just babbling, as most babies do. It was cute and fun to listen to, but now it seems as if in the blink of an eye she’s been actually talking.

A

Baba

Baby

Ball

Beast

Booger

Bowl

Bubble

Dada

Down

Duck

Got

Happy

Hi

Hey

I

It’s

Mama

My

Nice

No

Shell (as in Michelle, Lol)

Shoe

Uh-oh

Up

Wa wa (water)

Where’s

And just in the past few days – cracker, monkey, mouth, and spoon.

She’s even putting together some sentences.

“It’s a ball!” “Where’s my dada?” “I got a baba!”

She uses this new-found language to communicate her wants and her needs to us more and more each day. Sometimes she just sits and has conversations with herself or her toys. That’s my favorite time to listen.

To me, her voice is like a developing symphony. Each new word is a freshly added note and each sentence a newly added measure.

When she talks, it is music to my ears and I think I’ve found my new favorite genre.

13 thoughts on “Music to My Ears

  1. I love this blog and I can relate to it! Lilly does have a beautiful little voice, even if congested! Maybe our girls can be in a garage-punk band together when they’re older!

    Like

  2. The rest of your lives together…may you both remember that your voices are symphonies to each other. I absolutely always look forward to hearing my daughter’s voice…oh…Jeff’s too and now my grand-daughters!!! xo

    Like

  3. “When she talks, it is music to my ears and I think I’ve found my new favorite genre.” Wow, that line is such a fabulous way to end a great Slice. I really love how you started talking about your love for music and it transitioned into your love for your daughter and her new found voice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

