Happy St. Paddy’s Day!

An Irish Blessing

May the road rise up to meet you,

May the wind be always at your back,

May the sun shine warm upon your face,

The rain fall soft upon your fields,

And until we meet again,

May God hold you in the palm of his hand.

My family has a ton of get-togethers throughout the year, but my favorite is always St. Patrick’s Day dinner at my parent’s house.

The only true Irishman out of the bunch is my brother-in-law, Mike. There is probably only about 10% of actual Irish blood between the rest of our clan but hey, everyone is Irish on St. Patrick’s Day, right?

Mike is 100% Irish. He kind of has the face of a leprechaun, doesn't he?

Mike is 100% Irish. He kind of has the face of a leprechaun, doesn’t he?

There are a few reasons why this get-together has always been my favorite. First, it’s usually one of the first warmer days after a cold winter, which means we get to spend a good portion of the day outside. Second, I’m a huge foodie and I love, love, love our corned beef and cabbage dinner. I don’t know why I love it so much. I mean, all it is, is cured meat and veggies all thrown into one pot and boiled for hours. But there is something so delicious about it.

I swear I'm not a glutton. This plate is pretty small. ;)

I swear I’m not a glutton. This plate is pretty small. 😉

The rest of the Lasses in the clan also love the food as much as I do. My sisters agree that it’s their favorite get-together meal as well. We are all usually fighting for the leftovers.

Mom and little sister enjoying their grub.

My mom, Maggie and my little sister, Jenny enjoying their dinners.

Big sister preparing her plate.

Big sister, Cathie preparing her plate.

The Lads of the clan are another story. They have never eaten the corned beef and cabbage dinner. Their tradition is cheeseburgers and ribs from The Patio. This has been a huge battle of the sexes for years. Why get together to celebrate a holiday if you’re not going to eat the (somewhat) traditional meal? Don’t get me wrong, I love a good slab of ribs myself, but how can they pass up this festive and delicious meal?

Howard eating his double cheeseburger and my dad, Mike, eating his ribs.

Howard eating his double cheeseburger and my dad, Mike eating his ribs.

My brothers-in-law, Steve and Mike. No, the Irishman is not eating corned beef and cabbage. Can you believe that?

My brothers-in-law, Steve and Mike. No, the Irishman is not eating corned beef and cabbage. Can you believe that?

I was extremely excited for Lily to become a part of this tradition, but it looks like this little Lassie has sided with the men in the food feud.

Really, Lily? Ribs??

Really, Lily? Ribs?

My mom usually gets some festive looking cupcakes for dessert, but this year, I tried my hand at something different. A dark chocolate Guinness cake with Bailey’s Irish Cream frosting. Don’t worry, the kids had regular old brownies topped with green sugar.

Mmmm...man was it good!

Mmmm…man was it good!

Another family gathering has come and gone.

We are finally home for the night, our bellies are full, and we are tuckered out from a fun-filled day.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day, my friends!

Erin Go Braugh!

Erin Go Braugh!

5 thoughts on “Happy St. Paddy’s Day!

  1. This sounds like a great gathering! I’ve got lots of Irish heritage on my mother’s side, but I won’t touch the corned beef and cabbage myself. Ha ha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

