The Prodigal Parents

My parents have been on a vacation in Arizona and they are FINALLY coming home tomorrow.

They have been gone forever. I mean, they left on TUESDAY of this week. Just up and left. How could they abandon me like that?

Sure, I was just at their house this past Sunday. Yeah, I talked to them on Monday before they left, but they have been gone for FIVE WHOLE DAYS!

Don’t they know that I have to call and talk to them at least once or twice a day? Aren’t they aware that they are the first people I call when Lily does something incredibly cute or is driving me insane? Apparently not, because they were not here for me to call them.

I couldn’t even call their cell phones because one, they are prepaid and they don’t like to waste the minutes and two, they never even hear their cells when we try to call them anyway.

I had to send Lily to daycare extra days this week. Really? She usually goes to their house twice a week! Do they even know that she’s been asking about them for days? Whenever she sees their picture in the living room she says, “Mike? Maggie?” (How she started calling them by their names and not Grandpa and Grandma is beyond me, but they don’t seem to mind for now.)

Seriously, who do they think they are? Don’t they understand that they are parents? They should get this by now, especially since they have been since they were 21 and 22 years old. And not to mention, have raised three daughters. Sheesh!

I know what you’re thinking. They worked hard, raised their kids, and are retired now. They should get to go off and travel, have fun, do what they want, whenever they want, blah, blah, blah.

Ok, I guess I’ll forgive them this time. I’ll even grace them with my presence tomorrow when they return.

They just better rethink their decision the next time they plan to go off and have fun without me.

6 thoughts on “The Prodigal Parents

  1. So funny! I must admit, I speak to my mom several times a day, even when she is not here watching my daughter during the work week. My mom is like that with her mom too- lots of phone calls and together time. We are lucky to have such wonderful, loving parents as such a big part of our lives! Hope tomorrow’s reunion is great.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You gave me a good chuckle here…you’re a comic. Who’d have thought?? If I didn’t know you better, I might think you were spoiled. Ha-ha! I’m sure your parents love how much you need them as much as you love having them near. Let me change that…I KNOW your parents love how much you need them!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lol this is awesome!! I feel the same way about my parents…like they should just sit and wait for my phone calls on my way home from work! When they don’t answer I start thinking up ideas for where they might be! 🙂 Great post!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

