A Night Out

Howard and I recently purchased tickets to see the Barenaked Ladies and the Violent Femmes in June.

We have gone out on date nights since Lily has been born, but this is going to be a big one. Since the date of the concert is only a few days after our wedding anniversary, my parents have offered to take her overnight.

Once my friend told me that he received the tickets in the mail, the thought of this night out had me feeling giddy!

We get to hang out with friends that we don’t see as often as we used to now that we all have children.

We can be out as late as we want, not worrying about rushing home so we don’t inconvenience whoever is watching Lily.

We can behave as if we were still young and free of any real responsibilities.

We planned on getting a hotel room afterward so that we can act goofy and be as loud as we want without fear of waking up the baby.

We can have a few drinks and sleep in for a bit in the morning – something we haven’t been able to do in a year and a half.

As I searched through numerous hotels on my computer this evening I finally found the place that we would probably be staying at. I finished filling out the reservation information when a bit of panic began to set in.

I have never been away from my daughter overnight.

I know my parents will take good care of her. They love her like she was their own. They even joke around and tell me that she is their baby too. But it’s not going to be ME with her all night.

Should we really do this?

Going to the concert is a definite, but do we really need to be away all night?

Will they go through the whole bedtime routine the way Howard and I do?

Will they check on her while she’s sleeping the way that I do?

Will she notice that we aren’t there all night?

Will she be afraid because she’s sleeping in a different house?

Will she be sad when she wakes up and sees that we aren’t there?

I couldn’t bring myself to hit the submit button.

Maybe I’ll have the courage to do it tomorrow…

8 thoughts on “A Night Out

  1. Michelle, I have a two week Spring Break and next week I will be 250 miles from home watching my best friend’s kids/home/dog so she and her husband can spend 5 days in San Francisco. I offered her and her husband time away because I am convinced couples need time to reconnect. It is good for them, their marriage, and their kids. I hope if you and Howard can bare it, you treat yourselves to this special night. Best wishes, Jen

    Like

  2. DO IT!!! If you don’t do it today, I’m calling Howard and telling him to do it.

    When I’m out walkin’, I strut my stuff — yeah, I’m so strung out
    I’m high as a kite; I just might stop to check you out
    Let me go on… like I blister in the sun
    Let me go on… big hands, I know you’re the one

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Seriously, DO IT!! It is so needed. You will feel like the real YOU again….not just the Mom “you”. It’s a rare and incredible opportunity. You’ll even appreciate her more and miss her so much. You’re a great Mommy for thinking so hard about it, but DO IT!!

    Like

  4. I love the twist to the story. I was going right along with you and excited for you and…then the anxiety set it. But no worries – I have done it a many times now and my children are still alive. Yes, there are times when they weren’t in bed right at the time I wanted them to be or maybe they had extra treats, but again, they are still alive. Our parents somehow raised us and we turned out ok – well I guess it depends who you are asking. 🙂 Hit submit before the rooms are booked. It will make you a better mom with a break and the baby more independent! You can do it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

