I Didn’t Want To…But I Did

Do you ever have one of those days where you feel drained, stressed out, and like you want nothing more than to do just do for yourself and not worry about anyone else’s wants or needs?

Today was one of those days for me

I didn’t want to get up early this morning and prepare tonight’s dinner to be put in the crock pot. But I did it because I wanted to make sure that my family had a healthy meal.

I didn’t want to finish that hands-on activity that I started yesterday with my students because I knew they would act goofy it would take a lot of energy on my part. But I did it because I knew it was the best way for them to learn.

I didn’t want to have that conversation with the student that was acting out yet again because it sometimes feels like I’m talking to a brick wall. But I did it because I knew he probably has unhealthy things going on in his life right now and just needed someone to care.

I didn’t want to return that phone call to my friend because I knew I would be on the phone longer than I really had time for. But I did it because she sounded unhappy and I knew she needed a shoulder to cry on.

I didn’t want to stay an hour longer at my parents to help with their taxes. But I did it because they needed help and they are always there for me no matter what.

I didn’t want to clean up after dinner because it was Howard’s turn. But I did it because I knew he was tired and needed some time to just relax after a long work day.

I didn’t want to give Lily a bath tonight because our night-time routine started later than usual and I am just plain exhausted. But I did it because she loves her bath time and I want her to be happy.

I didn’t want to take the time to sit down and write a slice tonight. But I did it because I made a commitment to myself.

It’s amazing how much you can push yourself when you’re doing it for the people you care about most in the world, especially when you know that they would do the same for you. 

And tomorrow I will get up and do it all over again, no matter how tired I may be.

 

 

8 thoughts on “I Didn’t Want To…But I Did

  1. Michelle, I have felt this way too and I appreciate the eloquence with which you expressed yourself. You are an inspiration and a woman who goes the extra mile. I hope you get very restful, restorative sleep tonight. Sweet Dreams.

    Like

  2. Are you in my head with this one? It sound like my every day the past month at least. Sucks. Feels like Groundhog Day 2: Chores & Doormats but every night I’m in bed before 12, I’m like, tomorrow I’m gonna get it. 🙂 Great post, Shoe!

    Like

  3. We have all been there! Sounds like you are so giving and generous. Your family is lucky to have you. It may be time for you to take some “you” time…and that is okay. 🙂

    Like

  4. Yes. Every single day. I’m pretty sure that’s what happens when we’ve had these kids of ours. I think I’m typing this with one eye open, in fact. But. You got it done!

    Like

  5. Phewww! Sounds like an exhausting day! I hope that somewhere in the midst of all of the craziness and familial/job-related obligations that you find some time for you! Heaven knows that you deserve it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

