Feeling Sorry or Relieved?

Dana Murphy, of The Two Writing Teachers, posed a question on today’s SOLC post.

Are we sorry that the challenge is coming to an end or are we relieved? 

I think it’s a little bit of both. I feel sorry because I have had a lot of fun participating in this challenge. In fact, I’ve enjoyed it much more than I thought I would. But, I have to say that I am also a bit relieved. There were days throughout that I had numerous ideas of what to write about and then there were those days that my mind was just blank.

Today was one of those days. Nothing interesting or exciting happened. I completed a list of chores that I had been putting off. I stopped in between each one to play with Lily. I made dinner. We ate. We had our usual routine of after dinner music and dancing. We had bath time, story time, and now she’s in bed.

Like any other day during this month, my mind was going and going throughout these daily tasks and activities trying to come up with something, anything, to write about. Today, like many other days this month, I came up short.

So I think I am more relieved than sorry that the challenge will be ending soon.

Will I stop writing after this? I don’t know, but I hope not. If I do continue, I know that it may be easier to do so without feeling the pressure of having to post daily and being able to write on my own terms, so to speak.

We’ll see what’s to come, but until then, happy only two days left!

8 thoughts on “Feeling Sorry or Relieved?

  1. Will you be writing again after this….you hope not?!?!? What??? You are a GIFTED writer, Michelle. It’s ok to not write every day, but come on….don’t deprive the world of your story telling. You have such a beautiful way with words and telling us what you want to say. PLEASE don’t stop!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t think you “came up short” today at all, but I get what you are saying. There were days I just didn’t feel like writing. I was glad, though, to have the pressure to force me to write. I am hoping that I will continue, even if not on a daily basis, at least more regularly than I was before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

